My Journey into Computer Science

To start off, I have gotten into programming for little over 2 years now and the experience thus far has been overwhelming with steep learning curve. Although, there are days where it feels very rough where I could not even reason out simple algorithms and ends up thinking “I’m not good enough for this”. There are also days where I genuinely feel awesome for understanding complex concepts like pointers, Divide and Conquer and many such things in intuitive ways.

As I moved forward, things got easier. Problems that looked impossible to solve earlier now has become a matter of choosing a right algorithm from the black box of knowledge. And the huge chunk of Credit for helping me goes to people I have met in the last 1 year. All of them has been super helpful in teaching me something new every day.

I also want to highlight the wrong perception beginners like me hold for long before finally setting up free. The problem of wrongly perceiving that computer science is just about learning one or more popular language for the successful career. This might seem odd to non-CS people but at the core computer science is more about problem-solving, striving constantly to LEARN THE ART OF PROBLEM SOLVING. Once you train your mind to solve problems then nothing seems very complex to understand as you continue getting deeper into this amazing field. It is Learning to Learn and I will continue to spend my time and energy on this important skill.